VERA RÖHM
de | en | fr
Biography
Born in Landsberg/Lech in 1943, Vera Röhm grew up in Geneva and Darmstadt. After studying at Académie Charpentier in Paris for a year, she completed an internship as a stage designer at the Grand-Théatre in Geneva in 1962-63 before concluding her studies at ECAL in Lausanne. In 1967 she visited New York, New Mexico and California for work residencies.
In 1968 Vera Röhm began making her first sculptures in Paris. In 1972 she created her Binome sculptures using metal and stone in conjunction with Plexiglas. During this time she also constructed her first Tetraeder mit Einschnitten calculated according to halving the angles or the length of the sides in the area of a triangle.
In 1975 she started working on the series Ergänzungen, which combines the materials wood and Plexiglas. She also made the piece Der Baum, photographed at Messel Pit. After exploring the Marais quarter in Paris with her camera, she began to create the reworked photography cycles Stützwerke in 1977. These were followed, in 1981, by the photographic series Windbruch im Wald, as well as by her piece Skogsordbok in the same year. In 1983 Vera Röhm designed the stage set for La nuit juste avant les forêts by Bernard-Marie Koltès under the direction of Sigrid Herzog for the Munich Theatre Festival.
She based her long-term work cycle Topographie der Zeit, begun in 1983, on a visual representation of time, space and movement. By tracing the movement of the shadow of a geometrical body throughout a day she created drawings, reliefs, sculptures and installations. She executed her polyglot work group Die Nacht ist der Schatten der Erde in a variety of media from 1985 onwards.
In 1989 she collaborated with Gerhard Bohner in creating an installation with nine Ergänzungen for his choreography Im (goldenen) Schnitt I, (Durch den Raum, durch den Körper), which premiered at the Academy of Arts in Berlin. The choreographer Cesc Gelabert adopted the solo performance and it was staged in Europe, Japan, Australia and China. Among others, this included performances within the context of the Festival d’Automne held at the Centre Pompidou in 2002 and at the Edinburgh International Festival in 2013.
Works created in the context of public art competitions: Having won the respective competitions, Vera Röhm realized the percent-for-art commission Progression for Landeszentralbank Iserlohn in 1986, the glass labyrinth Du sollst – Du sollst nicht in the courtyard of Göttingen district court in 1994, the Schattenrelief 0-360° for Fraunhofer Institute in Darmstadt in 1998, as well as in 2003 the work Topographie der Zeit – Schattenwanderungen for the courtyard of an elementary school in Darmstadt.
In 1995 Vera Röhm traveled to New Delhi, Jaipur and Ujjain in order to document historical Indian observatories. The photographs she took there, of which large format prints were made, were first shown in 1998/1999 in the Mathildenhöhe exhibition halls in Darmstadt in the context of her solo exhibition Schattenwanderungen.
She created her first floating verses, after Paul Éluard, in 2002 for the ARTCANAL as part of the EXPO in Bienne/Neuchâtel and the verses Echo und Narcissus from Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” for the Blickachsen 7 festival held in Bad Homburg’s palace and spa gardens in 2009.
In 1997 Vera Röhm was awarded the Wilhelm-Loth-Prize of the City of Darmstadt, followed in 2003 by the Johann-Heinrich-Merck-Honor of the City of Darmstadt. In 2004, Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt acquired the Simon Spierer collection Ein Wald der Skulpturen, which features Vera Röhm with an Ergänzung piece. In 2009-2012 she created the monumental sculpture Licht-Strahl-Eiche. In 2010 she produced Spiegelbaum for the Internationaler Waldkunstpfad permanent woodland exhibition in Darmstadt. In 2011 her drawing Winkel-Ergänzung Beta 75° was acquired for the print collection of Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt. In 2015 her Licht-Strahl-Eiche was unveiled, which is now also in the possession of Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt.
Vera Röhm is a member of the Darmstadt Secession. Her works are part of numerous international and museum collections. She regularly exhibits in Germany, France and abroad, and lives in Darmstadt and Paris.
© Copyright Vera Röhm

VERA RÖHM
de | en | fr
Biographie

In Landsberg/Lech 1943 geboren, aufgewachsen in Genf und Darmstadt. Nach einjährigem Studium an der Académie Charpentier in Paris folgt 1962-63 ein Praktikum als Bühnenbildnerin in Genf am Grand-Théatre und anschließend Studium an der ECAL in Lausanne. 1967 Arbeitsaufenthalte in New York, Neu-Mexiko und Kalifornien.
1968 beginnt Vera Röhm ihre ersten plastischen Arbeiten in Paris. 1972 folgen die Binome, Skulpturen aus Metall und Stein in Verbindung mit Plexiglas. In dieser Zeit entstehen die ersten Tetraeder mit Einschnitten berechnet nach Halbierung der Winkel oder Schenkellänge im Grundriss des Dreiecks.
1975 beginnt sie mit der Werkgruppe der Ergänzungen, Materialverbindungen aus Holz und Plexiglas. 1975 entsteht die Arbeit Der Baum, fotografiert in der Grube Messel. Nach einer fotografischen Erkundung des Pariser Marais-Viertels beginnen ab 1977 die überarbeiteten Fotozyklen Stützwerke. 1981 folgt die fotografische Serie Windbruch im Wald, im selben Jahr entsteht das Werk Skogsordbok. 1983 entwirft Vera Röhm das Bühnenbild für La nuit juste avant les forêts von Bernard-Marie Koltès in der Regie von Sigrid Herzog für das Theaterfestival München.
Die visuelle Darstellung von Zeit, Raum und Bewegung begründet ab 1983 den fortlaufenden Werkzyklus Topographie der Zeit. Die Fixierung des Schattenwandels eines geometrischen Körpers während eines Tages: es entstehen Zeichnungen, Reliefs, Plastiken und Rauminstallationen. Die polyglotte Werkreihe Die Nacht ist der Schatten der Erde wird ab 1985 in vielgestaltigen Medien umgesetzt.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Gerhard Bohner gestaltet sie 1989 eine Rauminstallation mit 9 Ergänzungen für seine Choreographie Im (goldenen) Schnitt I, (Durch den Raum, durch den Körper), die in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin ihre Premiere hat. Von dem Choreographen Cesc Gelabert übernommen, wird das Solo in Europa, Japan, Australien und China getanzt. Unter anderem fanden Aufführungen im Rahmen des Festival d’Automne im Centre Pompidou 2002 und beim Edinburgh International Festival 2013 statt.
Ausgeführte Wettbewerbe im öffentlichen Raum: Als Wettbewerbsgewinne wurden 1986 das Kunst am Bau-Projekt Progression für die Landeszentralbank Iserlohn, 1994 das Glaslabyrinth Du sollst – Du sollst nicht im Innenhof des Landgerichts Göttingen, 1997 das Schattenrelief 0-360° für das Fraunhofer Institut in Darmstadt sowie 2003 Topographie der Zeit – Schattenwanderungen für den Vorplatz einer Grundschule in Darmstadt errichtet.
Zur Dokumentation von historischen indischen Observatorien reist Vera Röhm 1995 nach Neu Delhi, Jaipur und Ujjain. Die dort entstandenen Fotografien – aus denen großformatige Abzüge erstellt wurden – wurden erstmals in Darmstadt in den Ausstellungshallen der Mathildenhöhe 1998/1999 im Rahmen der Einzelausstellung Schattenwanderungen ausgestellt.
Erste schwimmende Verse von Paul Éluard entstehen 2002 zur ARTCANAL im Rahmen der EXPO in Bienne/Neuchâtel und die Verse Echo und Narcissus aus Ovids „Metamorphosen“ 2009 im Schloss- und Kurpark Bad Homburg bei den Blickachsen 7.
1997 erhält Vera Röhm den Wilhelm-Loth-Preis der Stadt Darmstadt, gefolgt 2003 von der Johann-Heinrich-Merck-Ehrung der Stadt Darmstadt. 2004 erhält das Hessische Landesmuseum Darmstadt die Sammlung Simon Spierer Ein Wald der Skulpturen, in welcher Vera Röhm mit einer Ergänzung vertreten ist. 2009-2012 entsteht die Monumental­skulptur Licht-Strahl-Eiche. 2010 entsteht der Spiegelbaum für den internationalen Waldkunstpfad. 2011 Aufnahme der Zeichnung Winkel-Ergänzung Beta 75° in die graphische Sammlung des Hessischen Landesmuseums Darmstadt. 2015 Enthüllung der Licht-Strahl-Eiche - nun im Besitz des Hessischen Landesmuseums Darmstadt.
Vera Röhm ist Mitglied der Darmstädter Sezession. Ihre Arbeiten befinden sich in zahlreichen internationalen Sammlungen und Museen. Regelmäßig vertreten in Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland. Sie lebt in Darmstadt und Paris.

© Copyright Vera Röhm